Apple Photos or Google Photos

Hi all.

I’m looking for a cloud based photo app so I can actually look at my photos rather than have them stored on a hard drive!

• I want to be able to back up all my photos (approx. 250gb), I have RAW and normal jpegs.

• I ideally want to have them on a local drive so I can back up and store off-site as well as in the cloud. I currently have all my photos in year/month order so would like to keep that structure.

• I want to be able to automatically upload my IOS photos but have them sync to my Mac so I can then back up off-site.

• Cheap as possible.

Not many requirements then!

What are people’s experiences with either experience of Apple or Google photos.

Thanks in advance.

I have been using Google Photos for a few years now, and absolutely love it. The apps are great on iOS and Android (as my wife uses the one and I the other this is a must), and the web app is really good too.

I love how they make use of face recognition, allowing you to search by person, and auto generate sideshows from time to time (though I also find it a bit creepy).

But unfortunately they no longer sync to Google Drive, so photos won’t be synced to your Mac. If someone has suggestions on this, I’d be most grateful! :slight_smile:

I use Apple iCloud and pay for 250GB as I am all Apple but it is shit for uploading via web etc.

Best try Apple Photos for yourself if you have a mac then you will see what I mean

Good thing is that it syncs across all devices

Not having an Apple product I haven’t got Apple photos. Google One allows you use Drive or Photos for storage. I find it really easy to use, they all sync and cross sync so you don’t need to do anything.