Credit cards and Realtime Balances

Hi all,

I’ve got a bunch of Credit-cards that I am trying to link with True-layer for YNAB balance sync. Some cards do not support True-layer - i.e. John Lewis Partnership Card.

I am wondering, what’s the best card provider that anyone might be using for pushing live balances quickly to True-layer or Open Banking. I guess I am looking for a Credit Card that has a Monzo/Starling like push, although not expecting as instant as these providers. Recommendations?

Cheers Mik

• Amex - John Lewis - Starling - Nationwide - Barclaycard - MBNA - Monzo -

Tandem has them however, I wouldn’t recommend them.

I’m not a developer but I don’t think open banking APIs support push.

The aggregators have to request the data on-demand so they will never have live balances under the current system. I suppose they could get quasi-live by requesting every few seconds but I would suspect banks would not allow them to do this.

If we’re just talking about credit cards themselves (rather than sending data to aggregators), of the cards I’m familiar with:

• Jaja updates balance as soon as instant transaction notification is received. It is the most ‘real-time’ credit card I have used.
  • Amex updates ‘available credit’ instantly (but not balance).
  • Nationwide is not instant.

The issue I have with Amex and my aggregator (Emma) is although the transaction will appear in the aggregator relatively quickly (I think Emma syncs every 4 hours by default), it is not editable (e.g. for adding notes and changing categories) until it moves out of pending state (which can take a day or two). This is different to Monzo. For Monzo transactions I can edit the transaction as soon as it appears in the aggregator (i.e. in Emma). Jaja does not yet provide open banking APIs so not sure how it will interact with aggregators.

You’re comparing an apple to an orange

Monzo have the transaction and can see when it posts