Curve's 2019 Performance

Curve have filed their accounts covering up to end 2019 which we can see here: https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/09523903/filing-history

They restated their accounting period by a few months, and still filed it 11 days late (causing a rebuke from the FCA) to ensure it was filed only after their latest funding round was completed, which made me wonder what they didn’t want analysed in detail beforehand… so I had a little look :laughing:

Firstly, I have to say I am really, really impressed with these accounts. They have spent £120k on a proper audited set of accounts, and I think managed to get their prim and proper auditors to sign-off on a typical set of Curve comms, which are very misleading when you first look at it. I’d appreciate another set of eyes on the document as I’m no expert, but it seems to say that due to a change of accounting period, they are comparing a 14 month period (Nov 18 - end Dec 19) with their income over a 12 month period (Nov 17 - end Oct 18):

Assuming that they are comparing 14 months to the previous 12 (which is a bit cheeky as their crowdfunding investors might not notice the small print) I’ve reduced the 2019 numbers by 13% to make a fairer comparison. Obviously not exact, but eye-opening:

The subscriber numbers are an estimate assuming an annual fee of £100.

Would be good to get your take on the numbers, but there’s a few things that jump out to me.

It’s a great increase in users - to 860k - but well below the 1m target that Curve were aiming for and suggested to crowdfunders just 3 months previously.

They nearly quadrupled their user numbers, but note the money they got from interchange fees only went up by 50%. The value of all the transactions went up almost in line with user numbers, but the shift from giving everyone business cards to personal cards has slashed their profit here - looks like it’s 0.5% of spend.