I just wanted to highlight a change regarding what happens when a community member decides they don’t want to be here anymore and they’d rather their profile was removed.
Article 17 of the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulations enshrines a ‘right to erasure’ for its citizens.
This entitles a ‘natural person’ to require those who collect ‘personally identifiable information’ to have that information destroyed when it is no longer necessary to be held. It does however provide a few exceptions including for exercising the right of freedom of expression and information, works carried out in the public interest or in order to comply with a legal obligation.
Previously this has always been handled on an ad-hoc basis when users have asked me via private message.
Now, you can request account deletion straight from your profile preferences.
This will then trigger a 48-hour discretionary grace period, during which it’s possible to ‘revoke article 50’. Once your 48 hours have been run down, your account will be put in a queue and I anticipate profile removal within a further 7 days (most likely much sooner).
During the process, we will anonymise the user’s posts and attribute them to an ‘anon’ user, so they are no longer personally identifiable any individual. This is similar to how messages and group posts still appear in discussions on facebook after a user elects to close their account.
Once your profile has been deleted, it will no longer be possible for us to identify you personally by IP address, username or email address.