RBS Customer Service

I have been banking with RBS since 1990 when I opened a personal account at their Oxford Branch. This saw me through Uni and beyond.

I have had a joint account with RBS since November 1996, so very almost 23 years.

RBS was one of the pioneers of telephone banking (around 1994) and was the first to launch internet banking in 1997.

I have not telephoned them for some time. So long I can not remember but I just called them a few minutes ago. I got through to a human within moments of calling and everything was sensible and efficient. The RBS employee was helpful and informative. When I asked a question that she was unable to answer she offered to pass me through to a colleague. Again, this call was answered almost immediately and the call handler was equally as friendly and efficient as the first.

In all my years using RBS, they have always been helpful, efficient and their customer service is up there with First Direct (who I also used for some time and are very good on the customer service).

Now, I know the FinTechs like Monzo and Starling are all the rage, but from what I read they’ve not mastered the customer service side. TBH, the CS I’ve had from both has been reasonable but I’ve used neither often nor recently.

RBS may not always offer the best loan or credit card rates, but (especially compared to Monzo Plus) the RBS packaged account offerings look pretty decent at a fair price.

Packaged Accounts

What many Monzonauts seem to want is:

• Mobile phone insurance
  • Travel insurance

They’ll give you £150 to CASS to them and they charge £10 for the Reward Silver for those benefits. Compared to Monzo, that’s bloody good.

Telephone Service

• Answer quickly
  • Speak to a human
  • Friendly
  • Efficient

Internet / App Service

• No major redesigns (of internet banking) in 22 years, just evolution, and still one of the best internet banking offerings
  • Easy to use with good range of functionality