Sky Q in Spain

Random question, does anyone know if Sky Q works in Spain?

Done the usual Google search and not really found anything other than stuff a few years old and that doesn’t really help…

Have a Sky HD+ box here and at home in Spain but if I was to swap to Sky Q here I’d lose the old box as you can’t have both.

France, yes. Spain I have no firsthand knowledge of but i can see no reason why if you can get HD you wouldn’t be able to get sky.

“someone I know” just got the biggest sky dish he could find off ebay the one they give to people on the Shetland islands i think lol, plus a sky brand Q LNB, and handed them to the guy fitting it, since this is literally what he said to do on his website… something about the arms of normal round dishes being a pain to fit the Q LNB to, and it has all worked fine, but if you have a dish for HD then you could prob just switch the LNB. The Q box uses two outputs of the LNB i think, and the others are all used for freesat boxes in around the house. That said, you’re more technical than “someone I know”, @Danny, so you may have sussed all this already, but if you can get HD, then i think Q should be fine.

1 Like

You’d likely need a new LNB for your dish in Spain as a minimum I think.

Plus they are moving channels onto transponders with a tighter UK footprint, so it likely wouldn’t be the full experience.

1 Like

Hmmmm… If it works in France then yeah should be ok there. I know about the LNB etc was just wondering if it worked outside of the UK.

1 Like

Sky Q works in Italy

1 Like

Yeah defo new LNB

It is a big old dish so should be ok with the move, I think Sky changed it a while back as well (transponders that is)

Careful with the LNB.

From memory the Sky Q LNB is propriotory and designed for the elliptical non-prime focus mini-dishes in use here.

Larger dishes tend to be more circular and the biggest dishes tent to be prime focus.